SSU to host 2019 Hall of Fame Induction Banquet

PORTSMOUTH, Ohio – Shawnee State University’s Athletics will host the 2019 Hall of Fame Induction Banquet at 6:30 p.m. on Friday, February 8 in the Sodexo Ballroom of the Morris University Center.

This year’s Hall of Fame Class includes Tyler Morgan, Heather Koehler-Downing, Tiffany Shanks-Moore, and Yvonne Bowman.

Bowman is this year’s recipient of the Ralph Kavanaugh Home Team Award, an award granted to those who are recognized for their efforts that go above and beyond to support SSU student-athletes. Bowman is a long-time and greatly involved member of the Golden Bears, SSU’s organization that promotes physical and social health for senior citizens of Portsmouth. She plays a crucial role in keeping up with the club’s daily schedules and organizing large events, including birthdays and fundraising.

Koehler-Downing was an instrumental part of SSU’s volleyball team what won two conference championships, two conference tournaments, three bids to the NAIA National Tournament, and accumulated a school best 30-3 record in 2009. She is one of SSU’s all-time great attackers in volleyball. She is the all-time leader in kills with 1,834 in her four-year career from 2007-10. Koehler-Downing’s best season was in 2010 when she accumulated 549 kills along with a 3.51 kills per set and .329 hitting percentage. She is tied for most matches played in a career, second in career kills per set, and eighth for career hitting percentage. Koehler-Downing was named third team NAIA All-American Mideast Conference and first team All-America Mideast Conference in 2009, and was first team All-Midsouth Conference in 2010. She has also earned the AMC Player of the Week in October 2009.

Morgan was a key player during SSU’s transition from the American Mideast Conference to the Mid-South Conference and is a career leader in both points and rebounds. He scored 1,779 points and had a total of 1,072 rebounds, making him the only SSU player to score over 1,000 points in both categories. Morgan was named AMC All-Freshman Team in 2009-10, Second Team All-AMC in 2010-11, In 2011-12, he was named Second Team All-MSC. Morgan earned First Team honors in 2012-13. He was also named NAIA Player of the Week in January 2011 and MSC Player of the Week three times. Morgan also earned American Mideast Conference Freshman of the Year (2009-10) and the Mid-South Conference Champions of Character Award (2011-12).

Shanks-Moore is a member of SSU’s 1996 NAIA National Runner-Up Softball team. She was instrumental in SSU’s rise to dominance during the mid-1990’s, as well as an NAIA title contender. Shanks-Moore owns two of the top 15 hitting seasons in the program’s history, hitting .444 in 1993 and .441 in 1996. She is also third in career batting average (.443), fourth in on-base percentage (.469), and third in slugging percentage (.322). Shanks-Moore was named second team NAIA All-America in 1996, first team All-Mid-Ohio Conference twice, and earned honorable mention All-MOC once. She has also been named MOC Player of the Week in May 1996 and Daktronics NAIA Scholar-Athlete in 1996.

“We are excited to be welcoming the Class of 2019 into our Hall of Fame,” said SSU Athletics Director Jeff Hamilton. “These three former student-athletes are some of the best players from their particular program’s histories and represent the finest SSU has to offer. I also want to congratulate Yvonne as this year’s recipient of our Ralph Kavanaugh award. She’s been an integral part of Golden Bears for many years, and the club has definitely grown and benefited thanks to her efforts.”

Tickets to this year’s Hall of Fame Induction Banquet are $35 per person for general admission, or $50 per person for VIP Cocktail Hour and banquet admission. The VIP Cocktail Hour will begin at 5:30 p.m. and the banquet will follow at 6:30 p.m.

Following the banquet, an Alumni Social will be held starting at 9 p.m. at Port City Pub, 424 Chillicothe Street. Hall of Fame weekend will continue on Saturday, Feb. 9 with a day full of events. Starting the day at 11:30 a.m., the annual Staff vs. Students game will take place in the Waller Gymnasium. An MSC doubleheader against Lindsey Wilson will follow with the women taking on the Blue Raiders at 2 p.m. and the men tipping off at 4 p.m. The 2019 HOF Class will be introduced at half-time during the women’s game. The Hall of Fame Weekend will conclude with the annual HOF Alumni Basketball game at 6 p.m. Those interested in playing in the alumni game should contact Jeff Nickel at 740-351-3271 or at

More information about the 2019 Hall of Fame events and tickets to the 2019 HOF Banquet are available online at