Red Cross to honor local heroes

The Ohio River Valley Chapter of the American Red Cross gears up to honor those that went above and beyond the call of duty over the last year, the names of this years recipients have been released. This year makes the 18th year for annual heroes breakfast.

The event will take place on August 18th at the SOMC Friends Center, tickets are being made available through August 8th at the Red Cross Office at 1801 Robinson Ave. in Portsmouth. The event starts at 7:30 a.m. and ends at 9:15 a.m.

According to Debbie Smith, Community Executive of the Ohio River Valley Chapter of the American Red Cross, those recognized during the event are done so through a variety of categories.

“The ORV Red Cross serves Adams, Lawrence, Jackson, Pike, Brown and Scioto counties and we are delighted to announce 10 heroes representing our entire service area,” Smith said in a released statement. “These individuals have gone above and beyond in service to others while exemplifying the spirit of the American Red Cross and we are honored to acknowledge them for the difference their actions have made in our communities.

The 2016 Fire/Preparedness Hero Award will be presented to New Boston Police Officers Sergeant Josh Carver and Bryan Jordan along with New Boston Village Administrator, Steve Hamilton.

According to award information, “When a fire broke out on a cold December night in the 4200 block of Oak Street in New Boston and Sergeant Carver and Patrolman Jordan were first on the scene. The two officers along with Mr. Hamilton, selflessly rushed into the house and rescued 81 year old Bernice Law. The men broke out a window with a chair from the porch and were able to retrieve Ms. Law from the home despite the smoke and the heat from the flames. Her son, Ricky Law was able to get out of the house on his own; however, both victims were hospitalized and Sgt. Carver, Patrolman Jordan and Mr. Hamilton were all taken to SOMC for smoke inhalation. They put their lives on the line to give a community member another chance at life. Unfortunately, Ms. Law passed away due to injuries sustained from the fire; however that does not dissuade from the heroic actions of these three men.”

The 2016 Adams County Hero is Leeann Puckett, Chair of the Adams County Health and Wellness Coalition.

According to award information, The ACHWC was formed in 2010 to help combat the staggering obesity and diabetes rates in Adams County. Puckett is one of two charter members of the ACHWC, recruited a group of local business men and women, along with a researcher from the University of Cincinnati, with the goal to improve the health and well-being of the children of Adams County and their families by assisting the community in creating a culture of wellness through increased physical activities and improved nutrition.

Kristina Elo-Monroe will receive the 2016 CPR/AED/First Aid Hero Award.

According to award information, Thanks to Nurse Elo-Monroe’s quick response to the report of a male student found unresponsive in the boy’s restroom at East High School, the young boy survived his ordeal and made a full recovery. Her life-saving interventions of CPR, the use of an AEP and other medical needs assisted the youth until the EMTs arrived. Nurse Elo-Monroe then went that extra step beyond and remained with the student at the hospital throughout the triage until his family arrived and received word that the boy was no longer critical.

Dale King is the recipient of the 2016 Military/Veteran Hero Award.

According to award information, King served as an Army Captain and is a veteran of both Iraq and Afghanistan wars. Along with his college friend, Derick Carver, Dale founded Team Some Assembly Required (SAR), a 501C3 Non-Profit Organization of which he is currently President. SAR provides support for veterans who are adaptive athletes for growth and expansion, across multiple disciplines. Dale travels all over the US organizing teams of adaptive athletes to compete in various sporting events. He is also a CrossFit Affiliate owner and has organized a CrossFit fundraiser for Ashley Schwamberger as her 4 yr. old son battled cancer. He has participated in several Ohio River Valley American Red Cross Jingle Bell Jog 5k races, among many more in the Tristate area.

The 2016 Scioto County Community Hero Award will be presented to Susan O’Neill and Mary Rase of Market Street Café.

According to award information, O’Neill and Rase went above and beyond the call of duty. Their self-less concern for the well-being of others shined in the darkness of a cold winter’s day when a fire broke out early one morning at a local business located next door to their restaurant in the historic Boneyfiddle District of Portsmouth. The duo prepared and served their donated coffee and food for the entire day to firefighters, residents who lost their apartments, the staff of Vanity Hair Salon as well as employees from many Market Street businesses and their many customers who came to assist with the disaster.

The 2016 Wellness Hero Award are being presented to the Scioto County Health Coalition and Regina Tipton, Executive Director.

According to released information, “The Scioto County Health Coalition is a dedicated group of community members who come together from all areas and backgrounds, including concerned citizens, corporate partners, nonprofit agencies and government entities, to improve the health of citizens in our community. Ms. Tipton is dedicated organizing and sustaining the group’s participation and effectiveness in helping our community improve basic health and standard of living. The Scioto County Health Coalition has been meeting on a monthly basis for more than four years, to plan, educate, communicate and organize activities focused on promoting health and wellness for all of our citizens.

Other award recipients include General Mills (Jackson) which will receive the Jackson Co. Community Support Hero. The 2016 Lawrence County Hero Award is the Ironton Police Department, the Lawrence County Sheriff’s Department, the Ironton Fire Department along with the Russell Fire Department and the Russell KY Police Department dive team.

The Pike County Hero Award will be presented to Judy Dixon, Executive Director of Pike County Outreach Council and the counties’ local food pantry.

Every year the recipient of the Marcia Sanderlin Hero Award is kept a secret until the day of the event. The annual award is given to a Red Cross volunteer or supporter that has gone above and beyond expectations either as a volunteer or financial supporter.

Proceeds from the event sponsored by Southern Ohio Medical Center will help support local disaster prevention, preparation and relief, including installation of free smoke detectors, the life-saving training of first aid, CPR/AED classes, collection and testing of blood and blood products, support to military members serving around the globe, the transportation program, and international programs provided by the American Red Cross.

Tickets for the event are $10 per person or $25 for a Patron with listing in the program. Tickets are available at the local Red Cross office at 1801 Robinson Avenue or by calling 740-354-3293 until August 8th. Tickets will not be available at the door.

Wayne Allen can be reached at 740-353-3101 ext.1933 or @WayneAllenPDT on Twitter