11th annual Kentucky Nonprofit Day

L to R: Marian Guinn, Chair, Kentucky Nonprofit Network, Representative Addia Wucher, Burlington – recipient of Nonprofit Advocacy Partner Award Danielle Clore, Executive Director/ CEO, Kentucky Nonprofit Network.

FRANKFORT, Ky. — Kentucky Nonprofit Network, Kentucky’s state association of nonprofit organizations, presented five member organizations, 17 legislators and two government officials with awards as part of its 11th annual Kentucky Nonprofit Day at the Capitol event in Frankfort on Feb. 17.

The annual event provides nonprofit organizations statewide with the opportunity to meet with legislators and support Kentucky Nonprofit Network’s (KNN) advocacy program to advance the sector.

The awards presented include the Nonprofit VOICE Awards, recognizing KNN members for their demonstrated excellence in public policy during the 2015 General Assembly, and the Nonprofit Advocacy Partner Awards, recognizing legislators and government officials for their support of the KNN members’ efforts.

Kentucky Association of Sexual Assault Programs and the Kentucky Coalition Against Domestic Violence, both of Frankfort, were recognized for their partnership on House Bill 8, which expands protective orders to include protection for victims of dating violence, sexual assault and stalking. The organizations recognized John Tilley, Secretary of the Justice and Public Safety Cabinet and former State Representative and Senator Whitney Westerfield, both of Hopkinsville, with the Nonprofit Advocacy Partner Award for their support.

Kentucky Association of Sexual Assault Programs (KASAP) was also honored for its work on House Bill 149, House Bill 515 and Senate Joint Resolution 20.

House Bill 419 created a tax refund check-off for a Rape Crisis Center Trust Fund on Kentucky income tax returns. The Fund will be used for sexual assault prevention programming in a continued effort to reduce the incidences of perpetration of sexual assault. Representative Chris Harris of Forest Hills was recognized for his support of this legislation.

House Bill 515 combats the demand for child trafficking by removing age as a defense to buyers and sellers of child victims. Representative Sannie Overly of Paris was recognized with the Nonprofit Advocacy Partner Award for her support.

Senate Joint Resolution 20 required an audit of the number of untested rape kits creating a backlog in the investigation of sexual crimes in Kentucky by the State Auditor, resulting in a report entitled Victims Matter. The audit identified more than 3000 untested rape kits in Kentucky, which allowed the Kentucky State Police Lab to apply for grant funding to test the kits in the backlog and create a system to prevent future backlogs and create an improved system of justice for rape victims. Kentucky Association of Sexual Assault Programs recognized Senator Denise Harper Angel of Louisville for her support.

Kentucky Horse Council of Lexington was honored for its work on House Bill 312 to address stray equine and cattle, including posting requirements. Kentucky Horse Council recognized Representative Tom McKee of Cynthiana and Senator Robin Webb of Grayson with the Nonprofit Advocacy Partner Award for their support.

Kentucky Oil and Gas Association of Frankfort was honored for its work on Senate Bill 186, which created new sections of the law related to oil and gas production and reclaiming. Senator Julian Carroll of Frankfort, Representative Rocky Adkins of Sandy Hook and Representative Jim Gooch of Providence were all recognized with awards for their support.

Special Olympics Kentucky was honored for its work on House Bill 178, which created a tax check-off option to support their mission on Kentucky income tax returns. Representative Martha Jane King of Lewisburg was recognized with the Nonprofit Advocacy Partner Award for her support.

Kentucky Nonprofit Network of Lexington recognized Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes, Representatives Jody Richards of Bowling Green, Thomas Kerr of Taylor Mill, Chris Harris of Forest Hills, Dean Schamore of Hardinsburg, Linda Belcher of Shepherdsville and Senator Whitney Westerfield of Hopkinsville with Nonprofit Advocacy Partner Awards for their support of House Bill 440. The legislation modernized a number of laws governing nonprofit organizations in Kentucky, including guidance on the use of technology in nonprofit governance.

Kentucky Nonprofit Network also recognized Representatives Addia Wuchner of Burlington, Arnold Simpson of Covington and Brent Yonts of Greenville with awards for their support of House Concurrent Resolution 89. HCR 89 established the Government Nonprofit Contracting Task Force charged with exploring ways to streamline state government contracts with nonprofit organizations to encourage efficiency and cost savings for both state government and nonprofits. The Task Force’s recommendations are due this fall.

Secretary of State Allison Lundergan Grimes spoke at the Rally to promote her partnership with KNN and the nonprofit sector on House Bill 367, which continues work to modernize the laws governing Kentucky’s nonprofit organizations. The bill was introduced a few weeks ago by Representative Jody Richards of Bowling Green.

Partnering with Kentucky Nonprofit Network to host Kentucky Nonprofit Day at the Capitol were the Prichard Committee for Academic Excellence, the Homeless and Housing Coalition of Kentucky, OWL Foundation, Bart Baldwin Consulting and the Center for Nonprofit Excellence. The event was sponsored by AT&T Kentucky.

Kentucky Nonprofit Network is the state association of nonprofit organizations working to strengthen and advance Kentucky’s nonprofit community. With nearly fifteen years of service, KNN provide nonprofit organizations with a unified public policy voice, professional development opportunities and resources, and various member benefits.