Community Common- RSS NEWS?profile=1011 Feed Sun, 1 Feb 2015 04:08:04 EST 1800 January Organizational Board Meeting Minutes The Scioto County Board of Developmental Disabilities held an Organizational Board Meeting prior to the regular Board Meeting on January 15, 2015. In addition to regular organizational business, the Board took the following actions: Sat, 31 Jan 2015 17:41:31 EST SOMC Sleep Diagnostic Center receives Program Accreditation Southern Ohio Medical Center's Sleep Diagnostic Center recently received program accreditation from the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM). Sat, 31 Jan 2015 17:36:32 EST Sturgill Earns Dean’s List Recognition Virginia Sturgill of Mc Dermott, OH, has been named to the 2014 fall semester Dean's List at Ohio Wesleyan University. Sat, 31 Jan 2015 16:41:31 EST County facing budget issues By Wayne Sat, 31 Jan 2015 11:56:31 EST YEI receives grant By Wayne Sat, 31 Jan 2015 11:36:31 EST Rockwell sworn in as SCBDD board members Scioto County Commissioner, Mike Crabtree, right, presided over the ceremonies to swear in Bill Rockewell to an additional four-year term as a member of the Board for the Scioto County Board of Developmental Disabilities (SCBDD). Rockwell was sworn in... Fri, 30 Jan 2015 17:56:32 EST New Head Science Teacher and STEM Coordinator Announced Portsmouth STEM Academy (PSA) congratulates Shannon Mowery on her recent appointment to Head Science Teacher and STEM Coordinator. Mowery has been acting as the interim Head Teacher and Coordinator since the beginning of September, after previous head... Fri, 30 Jan 2015 16:51:34 EST Microsoft Excel 2010 Level 2 Training Workshop Offered The Business Development Program of the Community Action Committee of Pike County, the Pike County Career Technology Center and the OSU Small Business Development Center are offering a one-day Microsoft Excel 2010 Level 2 Training Workshop on... Fri, 30 Jan 2015 15:41:33 EST “State of Tobacco Control 2015” Report Shows Kentucky is Failing to Save Lives Today (January 21) the American Lung Association released its 13th annual “State of Tobacco Control” report that found that in 2014 Kentucky failed to enact tobacco control policies that will save lives and help end the tobacco epidemic. Fri, 30 Jan 2015 15:26:31 EST Smith seeking sponsorship By Wayne Fri, 30 Jan 2015 14:36:31 EST Shade Tree Commission January meeting notes Attending the meeting was Diana Ratliff, Sarah Surina, Sue Burke, Ann Bonner, Hilda Drake, Kevin E. Johnson, Will Burke, Bill Beaumont and Carrie Massie. Fri, 30 Jan 2015 11:06:31 EST SCBDD seat vacated by Purtee The Scioto County Board of Developmental Disabilities (SCBDD) held a reception for outgoing board member Klaire Purtee on Thursday, Jan. 15. Purtee had served on the board since 2006 and submitted her resignation last month after her daughter was... Thu, 29 Jan 2015 17:56:33 EST PUCO reminds Ohioans of their choices as energy consumers For more than 100 years, energy in Ohio — electric and natural gas — has been regulated by the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO). The PUCO wants to remind Ohio consumers that there are options when deciding the energy supply that... Thu, 29 Jan 2015 17:11:36 EST 2015-2016 Small Game Hunting Seasons Proposed to Ohio Wildlife Council The 2015-2016 small game hunting seasons were proposed to the Ohio Wildlife Council on Wednesday, Jan. 14, according to the Ohio Department of Natural Resources (ODNR). Thu, 29 Jan 2015 16:46:32 EST SSU Presidential Search Committee Announces Candidates to Visit Campus The Shawnee State University Presidential Search Committee has announced the names of three presidential candidates who have been invited to campus for interviews beginning Jan. 25. During the three-day on-campus visits, candidates will meet with the... Thu, 29 Jan 2015 15:46:33 EST Slone Awarded Endowed Scholarship Jesse Slone, of Oak Hill, Ohio, was awarded the following endowed scholarship(s) at The University of Findlay:Byron E. “By” Morgan Jr. Scholarship Thu, 29 Jan 2015 15:21:31 EST Scioto Foundation Announces New Board Member The Scioto Foundation has announced the appointment of Lee Powell as a new member of the Foundation's governing board of directors. Powell replaces Michael Gampp who recently relocated to Columbus. Wed, 28 Jan 2015 18:01:32 EST Main Street Portsmouth Welcomes New Board Members Main Street Portsmouth voted to recognize new MSP board members and officers. New board members include Rebekah Clevenger, Nancy Bays, Diana Ratliff, and Kara Redoutey. Each board member will serve a three year term. Wed, 28 Jan 2015 16:41:37 EST Ohio’s Average Insurance Premiums Among Lowest Nationally COLUMBUS — Lieutenant Governor and Department of Insurance Director Mary Taylor announced that Ohio's average insurance premiums are again among the lowest in the country. The state's homeowner's and auto insurance premiums are... Wed, 28 Jan 2015 16:11:34 EST Garden Club news SUCCESSFUL HOLIDAY SEASON AT SHAWNEE LODGE Wed, 28 Jan 2015 15:11:31 EST