Board approves new coaches, out-of-state travel

Agnes Hapka

October 12, 2013

POINT PLEASANT — New coaching staff, staff travel and transfers, and employees’ leave were among items discussed at the recent Mason County Board of Education meeting.

Board president Randy Searls called the meeting to order. Also present were superintendent Suzanne Dickens, vice-president Greg Fowler, and board members Thomas Nunnery, Paul Sayre and Dale Shobe.

The board approved out-of-state travel for Cristi Rulen, on October 23-25, to attend professional development at the National Food Service Management Institute in Hattiesburg, Mississippi. Funding source will be the National Food Service Institute in Hattiesburg, Mississippi.

The board also approved the following resignations: Tammy Burns, Saturday School Instructor, Hannan High School; Amber Cottrill, Assistant Girls Varsity Basketball Coach, Hannan High School; Leslie Pauley, substitute teacher; Johney Preston, Assistant Varsity Boys Basketball Coach, Hannan High School.

The board approved employment of the following individuals: Sarah Walker, second grade teacher at Ashton Elementary; Jayna Lowery, kindergarten teacher at Beale Elementary; Kayla Holland, speech language pathologist, central office itinerant; Barbara Burnett, Joan Cornelius, Holly Johnson, Lois McBeath, and Edith Murphy, as substitute teachers for the 2013-2014 school year.

The board approved family medical leave for Sandra Buttrick, cook, Point Pleasant Primary School, for a maximum of 12 weeks unpaid leave, and for Charlene Clonch, bus Operator, transportation department, also for a maximum of 12 weeks unpaid leave.

The board approved the following: the transfer of Rusty Nott, custodian, Point Pleasant High School, to bus operator, route 2044; the transfer of John Moran, custodian at Leon Elementary, to custodian at New Haven Elementary; transfer of Jennifer Cundiff, Secretary III, Wahama High School, to Secretary III, 261 days, in the central office.

The board also approved the employment of Bryan Hoffman, junior high girls’ head basketball coach at Hannan High School, Ronald Smith, head varsity softball coach at Hannan High School and Andrew Blain, head varsity baseball coach at Point Pleasant High School. The board also approved the placement of the following coaching and athletic assistants, unpaid positions: Jonathan Napier, athletic assistant at Hannan High School; Cody Greathouse, athletic assistant at Point Pleasant High School; Scott Cochran, athletic assistant at Point Pleasant High School.

The board also approved the employment of the following coaches: Julia Hoffman, girls’ head varsity basketball coach, Wahama High School; Christopher Johnson, junior high golf coach at Wahama High School; Rockford Stewart, seventh grade Jr high girls basketball coach at Wahama High School.

The board approved Point Pleasant Food Mart as a work-based learning business, effective until September 30, 2014.

There will be a special policy meeting at 3 p.m. on October 17, 2013, at Mason County Career Center, followed by a regular business meeting at 6 p.m.