Notre Dame adds 15 to Honors Society

Brenda Gibson

January 24, 2013

Notre Dame High School inducted 15 new members into the Robert Holzemer Chapter of the National Honor Society in December.

The National Honor Society is an organization sponsored by the National Association of Secondary School Principals. Notre Dame’s chapter was chartered in May, 1957 and this is the 55th year of its existence. Notre Dame’s chapter is named after the late Robert Holzemer, who played a big part in the chapter’s development.

The objectives, quoting from its constitution, are “to create enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire to render service, to promote leadership, and to develop character in the students. Members of the chapter are voted in on the criteria of scholarship, service, leadership, and character. The members must also maintain a Grade Point Average of 3.3 on a 4.0 scale. Notre Dame’s chapter is involved with many activities including tutoring their peers after school and community service. The advisor is Michael Haskins.

Pictured are seated, current National Honor society members front row, Wyatt Bates, Michael Mader, Kristen Scott, Miranda Pauley, Andrea Marchyn and Staci Ramey. Pictured back row are Raigan Sammons, Libby Welsh, Kaylin Corns, Katie O’Neill, Jacob Milani, Blake Hazelbaker and Kaylin Corns.

New members inducted include Jaid Gampp, Katie Stephenson, Mika Garrett, Jack Kayser, Jessica Schmidt, Will Haney, Leah Craig, Hannah Cassidy, Ashlyn Cassidy, Emma Sand, Crystal Holtgrewe, Trista Davis, Kiersten Angelos, Hadyn Schmidt, and Emma Gohmann.